Welcome to the MetaMod and Chameleon Support Forums.

Before posting, please check out the FAQs.

helpme

Need extra help with your Joomla site? Consider paid Joomla support by the developer of Chameleon and MetaMod.

Catching module output and formating

Catching module output and formating

Hi,

I have an issue where i am using multiple templates within one site. I have had a problem with Joomla Tags where, when clicking on the tags link, it formated the resulting page using the sites default template and not the section I was in. I have fixed this with MetaTemplate so if the URL contains "option=com_tag&task=tag" it formats it with the correct template.

The issue i have is that my template also includes other modules, like the copyright, which do not get called on the new page and the defaults are displayed. Is there anyway to call these also in the success section.

I am new to Joomla and PHP so any assistance would be welcomed.

Regards

Hippofrogsry

hippofrogsry
Beginner Modder
ranks
useravatar
2 Posts
Administrator has disabled public posting

Re: Catching module output and formating

Hi Hippofrogsry,

I've just been taking a look through your site and now I can see what you mean!

The underlying issue is that the links from the "tags" component don't have an "Itemid" as part of the URL. The Itemid is another name for the id of the menu item that the target page is on. Bear with me - this is a little complicated.

So when you create a menu item for a page, there's a specific ID for it. That Itemid needs to be in the URL every time the URL is called, so that Joomla can retrieve important information about the page.