Welcome to the MetaMod and Chameleon Support Forums.

Before posting, please check out the FAQs.

helpme

Need extra help with your Joomla site? Consider paid Joomla support by the developer of Chameleon and MetaMod.

Region selector pop-up

Region selector pop-up

Hi,

I'm new to metamod and have to be honest that I haven't even tried it yet.
However, before spending time trying to get something working that maybe never will, I'd like to ask if it's possible to achieve the following with MetaMod. (I'll buy the Pro version if it would be possible.. )

Here's the scenario I would like to achieve;

1. For any (new) user that comes to my site,  I'd like him/her to choose 1 out of 4 available regions from a dropdown menu inside a pop-up.
2. Once the region is chosen, I'd like to show a module that is available only for this region. The others will be hidden. (Could be based on a keyword, or ID) (I'm envisioning to have 1 module for each region, so I want to show the one for the chosen region, hide the 3 others that are for the other regions.)

Hope that makes sense..

- Would it be possible to achieve this?
- I assume I somehow need to place a cookie, for the chosen region?
- Would it be very difficult to create this or rather straight forward?

Very grateful for you reply!

Many thanks in advance,
Mark

mediasaurus
Beginner Modder
ranks
useravatar
5 Posts
Administrator has disabled public posting

Re: Region selector pop-up

Hi Mark,

thanks for getting in touch.

This is reasonably easy to set up, just requires a snippet of PHP for setting the cookies or session variables.

The basic plan is that you will have 4 "target modules", the modules for the 4 regions. These will be set up almost exactly as you would normally set up modules, except that you should set them up to NOT appear on any menu items.