Welcome to the MetaMod and Chameleon Support Forums.

Before posting, please check out the FAQs.

helpme

Need extra help with your Joomla site? Consider paid Joomla support by the developer of Chameleon and MetaMod.

Change template when using mobile devices or small resolution

Change template when using mobile devices or small resolution

Hi,

Can anyone help me how I can setup Chameleon? I want to change template when using mobile devices or below a certain resolution. I'm not a coder, so I hope this will be possible in the settings of my purchased Chameleon and without all sort of PHP coding.

regards,
Wouter

wassie
Beginner Modder
ranks
useravatar
2 Posts
Administrator has disabled public posting

Re: Change template when using mobile devices or small resolution

Hi Wouter,

the answer is mostly "no" to this, although it may be possible. Let me explain.

When the browser sends through a request to the server, it does not contain the screen resolution. The server cannot know this from the request alone, ESPECIALLY on the very first request that it receives from a browser.

What you can do for requests AFTER the first request, is to put a snippet of JS on the page (you can put it in your template or perhaps on a module assigned to every page) that puts the resolution into a cookie. Then subsequent page requests will send this information through to the server.

Then it's pretty easy in Chameleon to use a snippet of PHP to check the value of that cookie and return a true or false value to test it and make the rule succeed or fail (and hence change template).

e.g. in the PHP box in Chameleon:

if (@$_COOKIE['xresolution'] != '' and @$_COOKIE['xresolution'] < 200) return true;
else return false;

Of course you need to have already set that particular cookie using JS. You can google for how to do that.

Stephen Brandon
MetaMod / Chameleon developer