Welcome to the MetaMod and Chameleon Support Forums.

Before posting, please check out the FAQs.

helpme

Need extra help with your Joomla site? Consider paid Joomla support by the developer of Chameleon and MetaMod.

redirect depending on the country of the visitor

redirect depending on the country of the visitor

Hi,
I want to know how to configure the tool of chameleon, for that depending on the country of the visitor displayed a different joomla website.
Currently the rules that i have put  only  redirects to a single web page.

anaromero
Beginner Modder
ranks
useravatar
7 Posts
Administrator has disabled public posting

Re: redirect depending on the country of the visitor

Hi, I just used Google Translate to translate your original post, for more info:

I'm new to using the Chameleon tool, acquired with the purpose of using it to the following:
How to display different content depending on the country of the visitor, the website is made with joomla 2.5
Example if the visitor comes from the country of Ecuador that detects the page and show the visitor content Ecuador only other visitors to see the default content.

There are several different ways that you can set up this sort of content switching, and some are better than others for Search Engine reasons and general practicality. Let me explain the major options:

1 - the content has exactly the same URL, and the content of the page switches based on country of the visitor.

This is generally bad for search engine reasons because you are serving 2 sets of content on the same URL. The googlebot will only pick up one of them, meaning that google in Ecuador won't point people to the EC content because it never saw it.

2 - you put in a temporary redirect from the main URL for the page to a different page that contains the EC content. You can provide alternative links to the EC URL so that Google will index that separately.