Welcome to the MetaMod and Chameleon Support Forums.

Before posting, please check out the FAQs.

helpme

Need extra help with your Joomla site? Consider paid Joomla support by the developer of Chameleon and MetaMod.

chameleon is changing my copmuter based template too!

chameleon is changing my copmuter based template too!

i've downloaded and installed chameleon and it seemed to be going great! only when i went to look at the front end to check on some other coding i discovered my computer template or the default was changing to the selected template for the mobile. how do i fix this? i followed the video tutorial for setting up my rule and it's got a malfunction somewhere that i'm not aware of. i'm basically a beginner. so any help is appreciated. thanks!

Solaramg
Beginner Modder
ranks
useravatar
3 Posts
Administrator has disabled public posting

Re: chameleon is changing my copmuter based template too!

Hi Solaramg,

A good way to diagnose what is going on in your rule is to use Chameleon Debug mode. That is, on the Rule Chain page, look at the settings, and there's an option there for turning on Chameleon Debug.

When that is turned on, take a look at the front end of your site. You should see a list in the "debug" module position of the steps that Chameleon is taking, and why it is taking them. This should alert you to what's going on.

The other thing to check is maybe you accidentally set the "default" template instead of setting the template for the mobile devices. You can do both from the rule edit screen -- the "default" one is done with radio buttons, while you probably wanted to set the template as the result of the rule: so in that case you need to use the drop-down list of templates in the "SUCCEED action".

Hope that helps.
Stephen

Stephen Brandon
MetaMod / Chameleon developer
If you use MetaMod or Chameleon, please post a rating and a review at the Joomla! Extensions Directory: Chameleon | MetaMod

metamodguy
useravatar
3312 Posts