Welcome to the MetaMod and Chameleon Support Forums.

Before posting, please check out the FAQs.

helpme

Need extra help with your Joomla site? Consider paid Joomla support by the developer of Chameleon and MetaMod.

Basic question - Redirection to Mobile template within Joomla 2.5.6

Basic question - Redirection to Mobile template within Joomla 2.5.6

Hi
I am a newbie, just searching for a product that will enable a smartphone user to be directed to a mobile version of my regular website without using a sub-domain.

I am using Joomla 2.5.4, I want to be able to maintain one set of content and yet when a smartphone user tries to access my regular website address they are directed to a mobile template.

I generally use Artisteer to create my templates, either a fixed width or fluid, either or, what ever it needs.

Is this possible with your product line.

mightec
Beginner Modder
ranks
useravatar
16 Posts
User info in posts
Administrator has disabled public posting

Re: Basic question - Redirection to Mobile template within Joomla 2.5.6

Hi Mightec,

Sorry I didn't get to your e-mails earlier.

Yes, you can use Chameleon to make your site use a particular template based on whether something is a mobile device or not. You could use one template for all mobile devices, or map several different devices to several different templates.

The only caveat to this is that the definition of "mobile device" is getting more and more complex. For example, there are large screen TVs that use the Android operating system, but the Android device detection will obviously put them into the same template as smaller Android devices, which is probably not what you want. (or it may be, depending on the template and the controls available on the TV).